hoping to get certified

dawnc

DH and I have talked a lot about getting certified to dive. I have done some research, but am hoping to get some input from some "seasoned" divers. None of our friends dive, so I am hoping my CC friends can help!

As far as getting certified, I am unsure which training center to use. We live at the Jersey shore, so there are a few local places for me to choose from. How can I find out which one is the better one to use? Business being business, they will all try to say that their place is the best one to use. Since I have no real knowledge of diving, I have no idea what to ask them to make my choice!

Is it unrealistic for me to expect to become certified before our next cruise? We are planning our next cruise in May 2005, which will most likely be a Western Caribbean on Carnival. If we take the Triumph, our ports will be Cozumel, Grand Caymen and Ochos Rios. If we take the Miracle, they will be Grand Caymen, Costa Maya, Cozumel and Belize. As of right now, those are in the final running. I have heard great things about Grand Caymen and Belize. Which port or ports have you had the best diving experience? Would you do a ship excursion or book your own? Would we have to bring equipment or could it be provided for us?

I know that there must be a lot more questions that I should ask about this. Maybe with some of your help, DH and I can see what so many others have seen, while we have only seen it in pictures.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Dawn

Hey Dawn!

I'm not a seasoned diver (I actually just got my certification card in the mail today!!) but I thought I'd chime in with my thoughts as a new diver-