How to Dress on a Cruise

Sailfish

While getting ready to lead another group cruise, I was looking at giving advice to some of my new to cruising people about how to dress. I thought some of my observations might help those still a little unsure on what to pack. Although cruises in general have gotten more casual over the years, it's important to note that the time of year one travels and the length of the cruise really are what will determine how you will want to dress as opposed to the cruise line's published dress code. I've begun to notice a trend that has little to do what the cruise line will allow you to wear in the dining room. Although you should always take what people on the internet say with a grain of salt (that includes my input, as I am no expert on this subject), I am hoping my gentle words of wisdom will help those still confused about how to dress on a cruise.

Note the Differences in Cruise Lines

Because Carnival, Royal Caribbean and NCL have a reputation in catering to families and offer shorter length cruises, the dress code tends to be more casual. It's common to see men and women in jeans and nice casual clothing at night in the formal dining rooms on non-formal nights. Formal nights tend to be more low key, and although you will see people in formal wear, you will meet others dressed in more casual attire. The idea that anything goes on formal night is really not true, as the majority of guests still do dress up. But you don't see long ball gowns or many men in tuxedos anymore.

The exceptions tend to be on voyages during the week of New Years (where passengers still dress to the nines regardless of cruise line) or on trips longer than a week where you tend to see fewer families with young kids. As a rule, you will probably see a higher percentage of people dressing nicer on non-formal nights, but as these cruise lines promote a more casual ambiance, you will always see people wearing nice casual wear as opposed to dressy outfits.