Halibut fishing/Ketchikan 1st of June

macnife

We are cruising on NCL Pearl May 31-June 7 2009. We are thinking of doing a fishing tour in Ketchikan. We would like to catch Halibut. Are they catchable the beginning of June? I followed another link on this board that showed when the fish were available, and it did show Halibut. I just wanted to get first hand info from someone who has fished at the beginning of June. Family has done a lot of Salmon fishing in Michigan, so they are looking forward to catching Halibut, if possible. Any recommendations on tours that are best for Halibut? Thanks for any information!

I have no experience fishing Halibut in Alaska but you aroused my curiosity. So, like you, I did a bit of checking. Found this site which may help you decide...

http://www.piscatorialpursuits.com/halibuttides.htm

Thanks for the link. Great information, but since I know nothing about fishing, not sure what to think!

Budget Queen, I have contacted several fishing charters for prices, but in their reply, they did not specify how the fishing was, just prices for the charters. I was hoping to get some insight from people who have fished at that time. I know we will have fun no matter what we catch!

The good halibut fishing in Ketchikan is a ways from town. Your shore excursion time may not allow you to do a charter that can get you out to the fish and back in time. The shore excursions sold by the ship that take you fishing don't go out very far, and any halibut you are likely to catch on these excursions are in the 5-15 pound range. In addition, there will probably be a one-halibut limit for charters in SE this summer. If you book a charter, get the details before you put down your money. They may say halibut fishing, but unless you get out to deeper water, you may only catch a little one.