A really important wine question

nurseblissful

is there a customs limit to how much wine i can bring back from martinique? also, is bringing back food in sealed containers an issue? i am going to pick up our documents this afternoon at the travel agency....woo-hoo. any help is appreciated. lauri

Federal regulation don't specify a limit on the amount of alcohol you can bring back, but if it's a very large amount, they are going to be suspicious it's for resale. That said, you can bring back as much wine as you like, if your state allows it. You will just have to pay duty and Internal Revenue service tax on it if it's over your one liter allotment.

By sealed containers, do you mean cans? And what type of food?

Just wondering; is this some special wine that you can't obtain at home, or order off the internet. It's a huge hassle to bring back lots of wine, and you could end up paying some hefty duty and taxes on it.

I'm not an expert on cheese, but believe it must be made from pasturized milk and be a hard cheese. Cookies and crackers should be no problem.

My experience with U.S. customs is the same whether entering on a cruiseship or plane. We like to buy rums in ports and there is only so much allowed per passenger, we buy wines to bring home when in France and there is only so much allowed back per passenger. The crackers and cookies are fine but the cheese will be a problem if they find it. In France they have special air tight bags for cheese so that it is less likely to be detected but I don't chance it anymore. The $10,000 fine is too steep. If it is for consumption on the ship you are probably just fine!!! French wines, cookies, crackers, and cheese, plus beautiful Martinique....I am so jealous!!!!! Have a great time, Cherie