Pier # in Seattle

emilygrace

I am new to HAL, so bear with me. I know there is a new cruise terminal in Seattle (Pier 91) and I guess this is where HAL will be sailing from in the future. My question is what if Seattle is just a port of call on your itinerary? Will we still be docked at Pier 91? And how close is this to anything, such as public transportation. I am used to docking at Pier 66 (I think that's the #) and just walking off the ship and jumping on the free bus that does the downtown area.

Does anyone know?

Thanks!

Nope, I don't know for sure. I see that you're on the Statendam 5-day coastal cruise, rt Vancouver in early May, is that right? It looks as if the Statendam will be the only cruise ship in Seattle the day you're here. So, HAL may be using pier 66 (Bell Street Pier) in downtown Seattle, rather than pier 91 for that day. If it's any help, here's cruise info, including pier 91 info, for the Port of Seattle:

http://www.portseattle.org/seaport/cruise/

Does anybody know why HAL is docking at this PIER?4 miles out in the boondocks is not good passenger relations.IMHO.:eek:

Pier 66, the downtown pier, can only take so many ships, and it already handles Norwegian and Celebrity. Pier 91 is a brand new pier, in the final stages of construction, that will accommodate Holland America, Princess, and Royal Caribbean. Terminal 30, the former docking area for HAL, Princess, and RCCL, is apparently needed by the port to handle freight traffic. There are some 211 cruise ship visits expected in 2009, and there just isn't enough room to handle them all at one pier.

Pier 91 is just north of the downtown office/retail core, and is not completely "in the boonies". :)