Anyone know a tour guide for Valparaiso/Santiago Chile

smeyer418

I went with Michael, the German Pirate. He is fantastic. Ex-pats make great guides because they love where they are but know where you are coming from. He showed me a Chilean coast and a Valpo I could never have found for myself - and I am a travel writer used to finding my own stuff. And his rates are ridiculously reasonable. You can find his email at http://www.myvalparaiso.com

Andrea

Thanks for any suggestions...

We were in Valparaiso for a full day between cruise segments in April/09 & spent 7 hours covering the city by foot & public transit with Michael the German Pirate. We did the usual suspects that are well-advertised (Paseo 21 de Mayo; Concepcion & Ascensor Artilleria; Open Air Museum; La Sebastiana - Pablo Neruda House). We also had several impromptu experiences/visits that were unexpected & delightful.

We initially planned to also visit Vina Del Mar but once we got going we opted to stay in Valparaiso for the full day. It’s a fascinating place! Overall, we had a terrific (albeit exhausting) day with the German Pirate. :):)

http://myvalparaiso.cl/eng/home.htm

• 1 month later...

You could try winetoursvalparaiso michael@winetoursvalparaiso.cl

Level 1 Sommelier from London does tours from port through the casablanca valley then drops you off at your aiport or Hotel. we had a really great time with him it was like taking a tour witha friend who you the area, i highly recomend him and you should look at his website and blog www.winetoursvalparaiso.cl