Princess Alaska Cruise Booking Shore Excursions

javaandjazz

Hello,

Newbie here and cruising for the first time on a princess 2 week cruise to Alaska. My question is, their shore excursions seem like an awful lot of money. There must be other excursions available once you get off the boat into the various towns/cities? Does princess get a cut if you book the excursions with them? Can anyone recommend any tours in Ketchikan, Skagway,Valdez, Kodiak, Juneau, Anchorage, Icy Strait Point? Thanks!

Any excursion you book thru a cruise line (Princess included) makes money for the cruise line.

Yes, there are often cheaper excursions available thru independent guides. Two places to go for info are the Port of call section and the ROll Call for your cruise. Both are part of these boards. On the roll call you will often find people who have planned a private excursion and would like people to join their group and split the cost.

Keep in mind if you are planning independent tours, it is up to you to determine the vendor is capable and honest. You also need to do the research to determine what you want to see.

Finally, there is one big benefit to the ship's tours. If the tour is late getting back to the ship, the ship will wait. If a non-ship tour is late, the ship will sail without you.

Alaska excursions, in general, are very expensive. We did an independent excursion and two through Princess last year. You do not save much on the independent ones-usually smaller groups and more personalized service-which is often preferable. There are little tour kiosks in the towns (Juneau, Skagway, Ketchikan) when you get off the ship, but I have no idea about the quality or type of touring offered.

Hello,