Gty change

Made my final payment monday and received my guarantee cabin assignment yesterday (deck 2 inside cabin front of ship). This is my first time doing a guarantee. From this board I have learned that you can ask to be put back into the guarantee pool to see if another (perhaps better located) cabin can be assigned. Not sure if I'm want to do that since the one I was allocated doesn't seem to bad for our needs. However, if I or my cabin mates decide we want to be put back in the gty pool, is it better to wait until some of the more "undesireable" cabins sell so we don't get something worse?

A guarantee cabin is when you receive a discounted price in exchange for allowing the cruise line to select your cabin for you. If you are worried about location or have a particular cabin you want, don't book a guarantee, just pay up for the cabin you want.

Yes you can go back into the pool...

But... if you're quite happy with the cabin you've got... I'd stick with it... you may end up with one you like even less!!

Also... the sooner you do it, the more choice you've got... in case you need to go into the 'pool' again!

We've booked a GTY for every cruise we've ever had.... and never ended up with a cabin we were unhappy with!!

My cruise is on Jan 21, 2010. Paid it off last Monday and still have not been assigned my GTY W room. I am going nuts waiting and checking. I hope it is soon. There are a plenty of suites opened in the JS and GS category, and 1 in the OS. If I get a JS I do not like I am going to just pay the extra 8 dollars and pick a JS I do like, so I really want them to assign before the price goes up. If I get something higher I will feel like I hit the lottery!!!

If you are happy I would not change. You might end up near the anchor or under a club!