How stable is WiFi - TECH HEAVY QUESTION

AndyTheK

Another strange question. I'm a newbie to notebooks and WiFi access, though I am well experienced in Windows and PC in general (IT in the tech side was my profession or 44+ years).

DW just bought a notebook which we will be taking on our Panama Canal Cruise in December. The advantage of doing email offline, and having somewhere to offload our photos and video footage is well worth the cost. Right now, the machine is configured to log into our home network - which is heavily secured against casual entry. Because of a Windows XP configuration requirement, we can not currently attaach to any WiFi HotSpots which means I can not test how the system will behave aboard ship. I will have to change the configuration when we are traveling. Not a big deal, but not as simple as a few clicks.

However, for reasons still unknown (the machine is new and it takes time to really troubleshoot problems like this) its internet connection (wireless) disconnects every so often, usually after about 5 or 10 minutes connected. I don't THINK it's on the access point side, because there is another computer (a desktop) connected wireless also, and it does not "see" the line dropping, or it recovers quickly enough so there is no trouble. I can reconnect the notebook ("repair" connection) and the system continues until the next disconnect. Google is chock full of entries for the symptoms, but most of the answers so far have been useless.

Does the WiFi on board disconnect often? And if so, is reconnect "clean" or does it require logging in again? I could deal with it either way, but I am not the user - DW is, and though she is a very knowledgeable user, she's not a techie :) No matter what the answer is, I'd like to prepare for it.

TIA and Shalom. Andy.