Underwater Cameras

sassy5683

We are looking at getting an underwater camera for our upcoming cruise. I am not a professional or anything I just want a simple camera that can be used for snorkeling. There are TONS of underwater cameras out there and would like a little input on what you liked what you didn't like. I am not concerned if it takes good land pictures...it would be nice but I have two really good land cameras so that isn't something that is needed. I would kind of like for it to have some sort of video also...even if it is just small clips. I really would like to spend less than 300.....less than 200 would be even better.

Thanks in advance for your help!

This camera is actually one of the ones on my list. I already have a canon powershot so it shouldn't be too hard to get used to the controls.

The only thing I didn't like about this camera was that it didn't use AA batteries. But I guess that is something I can live with.

I am still looking. At least I have a while till our cruise so I am not in a huge rush! Would like to have it wrapped under the Christmas tree as a family gift though!

This camera is actually one of the ones on my list. I already have a canon powershot so it shouldn't be too hard to get used to the controls.

The only thing I didn't like about this camera was that it didn't use AA batteries. But I guess that is something I can live with.

I am still looking. At least I have a while till our cruise so I am not in a huge rush! Would like to have it wrapped under the Christmas tree as a family gift though!

I agree with the preference for AA batteries, but the rechargable lithium ion battery that comes with cameras does last quite a while. You'd only need one spare to be able to swap them out and keep shooting.

Olympus also makes a line of waterproof cameras, but I just prefer the Canon brand myself.