Review of Carnival Ecstasy 5 Day Cruise 1/9/10 LONG

Fighterone

Background

DH, Saint-Zoomer (SZ) and I are in our early 60s, and late 50s. This was our 4th time on the Ecstasy; we have witnessed 2 refurbishments on her since 2005. In the past, we have cruised on Carnival, Celebration, Conquest, NCL Sea, RCI, Splendour, Rhapsody, Voyager, and the Yankee Clipper, a Windjammer barefoot cruise out of Martinique in 1978.

Lately, we tend to alternate vacations between cruising and all inclusives (AI) since we are more sedentary and don't care about sightseeing as much as when we were young. Our destination doesn't really matter as long as it is tropical and nonstop out of IAH, Houston's big airport. My background is with the airlines, primary language is French; his is English with several years as a student in Mexico and Canada. We have no children but enjoy our menagerie of animals. I love good food, any type, and my CC name denotes my constant fight with the scale, an on-going losing battle.

We live about 1.5 hours from the Port of Galveston and are fortunate to have friends in Dickinson who baby sit our car and drive us to and from the port. We have used both EZ cruise and the port of Galveston parking. The former offers an online discount. Here is more information about Galveston and its parking: www.galveston.com

The day before, I decided to take off from work since I will never change the fact that I am a last minute person and no matter what, I will never successfully complete all the pre-cruise chores unless I am backed up to a wall on a deadline.

Having endured the woes of debarkation’s disorganization and long waits, this would be the second time that we would pack light enough to end the vacation promptly with self-debarkation, something we promised ourselves we would do unless we were on a cruise around the world and would need everything including the kitchen sink.