Mexico ??

leedm

I have been cruising Mexico ports for the past 4 years with no fear of where we go, but I'm starting to think maybe it is time to choose another place to cruise. I know there has not been a big problem in Cozumel, Playa Del Carmen or Costa Maya so far, but I do not want me or my family to be the next CC article of some one being killed on a tour. It seems like the problem in Mexico is comming to the Yucatan. Am I wrong??

leedm:confused::confused:

As many cruisers will tell you, the media is exaggerating !

"We're not afraid of going to Mexico", they will say.

(Acapulco was fine this past weekend......only 12 taxi drivers/customers were shot to death/decapitated, etc).

I have been cruising Mexico ports for the past 4 years with no fear of where we go, but I'm starting to think maybe it is time to choose another place to cruise. I know there has not been a big problem in Cozumel, Playa Del Carmen or Costa Maya so far, but I do not want me or my family to be the next CC article of some one being killed on a tour. It seems like the problem in Mexico is comming to the Yucatan. Am I wrong??

Then stop going to Mexico. Only you can decide where you want to go.

I will be in Cozumel and Costa Maya next week......I am in the Govt and have to get an AT Brief....Report seemed pretty safe in those two places....But you never, know....

Merida which is the capital you visit from Progresso said it prides itself on being the peacefull city.

If you are visiting from calif, there are more reasons to worry, but not so much where you said you are going.

Mexico is a big place...dont put one label on the whole of Mexico.

Violence in Mexico is mainly in the border towns.

Do people get robbed elsewhere? Sure. Do people get assaulted elsewhere? Sure.

Not onlly Mexico, but every country in the world...with the U.S. being high on the list.