How does the gift card work?

pakarinen

Noob here. SIL wants to get us a cruise gift. We were going to suggest a Princess gift credit which the Princess site says can be used for "anything".

Is that accurate? Could we use it for upcharge dining, for example?

Do you present a card at the time of purchase or is the credit just subtracted off your final bill? Thanks!

The gift is onboard credit. The onboard accounting system is a very simple debit/credit system. You'll start with the amount of the gift as credit and everything you buy, from T-shirts to drinks to shore excursions to specialty restaurants to the "auto-tip", are subtracted from that. It literally can be used for anything.

They would buy you the gift card which, I belive, is an on board credit after you have booked your cruise?

If so, then it would be on your ship board account when you board so you do not have to present it- just check at the front desk that it is there. You will most likely have a card in your room saying it's on your account and who it's from. It can be used for anything; spa, dining, drinks, daily gratuities, shore excursions, etc.

One thing I did learn recently- when buying the onboard credits you have to 'pick a day'. It is for their book keeping only and doesn't mean you have to use it all on that day. When you pick the day choose an 'at sea' day and you avoid a bit of tax. They have to add tax if you choose an in port day.

Also new to Princess having cruised RCI. If we paid for a gift card before we leave am I right in thinking this will be added to the onboard credit we already have and we could cover gratuities and soda packages this way so we can budget over the next couple of months and avoid paying it all on the credit card bill that arrives after the cruise? Would be good.:)