NCL SUN art auction beware

artistsj

I just returned form a cruise on the NCL Sun. As an artist I was very interested in the art auction. I signed up for a bidding card even though I had no intention of bidding. It did add my name to the raffle though. DID IT? I noticed two things. First, the winners all were bidders. Second, when the raffle tickets came forward they were in two buckets. One smaller than the other. The actioneer and the poeple in the back,( office support), are in communication via computers. It is the job of the office support to keep track of which bidders have signed in and which have bid successfully. When the actioneer began to draw raffle tickets he put the smaller bucket in the larger one. Gee I wonder why there were to buckets and why he only drew from one of them? :rolleyes:

Next if you do intend to buy art please remember that most of the pieces are prints. Most are signed by the artist, this is good. Some are pulled from original plated made by Rembrandt and other historically signifcant artist but they are not pulled by the artist nor are they signed by the artist. Any amount can be made and the value is questionable.

I am an origanal snob. If you buy a print you are buying somethig you like, not an investment unless it is signed by a historically significant person. In other words you are buying the signature. All other prints are speculative as to whether the artist will make history. So do your home work as to who is truely worth to price of their signature.