Snorkel in Belize or Cozumel?

cml88

Hi guys,

Just book a cruise for August 2012 and we will be going to Belize and Cozumel...I've read that the snorkeling in both places is pretty great..but I want your opinion!

I've been snorkeling once before in Grand Turk and absolutley loved it! I wouldn't call my self an "experienced" snorkeling but I am not a beginner either. I'm very active and enjoy snorkeling in a bit deeper of water (10-20 ft)...I'm NOT looking for some on-shore snorkeling experience and i know many of the excursions are just that....sooo what do you think, Belize or Cozumel?

Hi guys,

Just book a cruise for August 2012 and we will be going to Belize and Cozumel...I've read that the snorkeling in both places is pretty great..but I want your opinion!

I've been snorkeling once before in Grand Turk and absolutley loved it! I wouldn't call my self an "experienced" snorkeling but I am not a beginner either. I'm very active and enjoy snorkeling in a bit deeper of water (10-20 ft)...I'm NOT looking for some on-shore snorkeling experience and i know many of the excursions are just that....sooo what do you think, Belize or Cozumel?

It's no contest - Cozumel has magnificent off shore reefs. That's not to degrade Belize. Snorkeling there is good, but it's mostly shore entry from one of the small islands.

The best solution: Snorkel both!:D

http://www.eagleraydivers.com/

http://travel.webshots.com/photo/2260604110088053251pHnxmG

I've had good snorkeling in both places. The snorkeling from shore was pretty good on Coz before Hurricane Wilma, but the shallow coral was damaged pretty badly. It is coming back, but the offshore reef snorkeling is the best. We did a boat trip out of Playa Palancar that was great. We had 8 people onboard. Cost $35@ a couple of years back.