FOS question

We sailed on the FOS this past September. Our cabin was a balcony on deck 7, midship.. Our daughter was across the hall in a cabin overlooking the promenade. Our son was in the room with us.

We will be sailing on the FOS again next summer, and I will book directly with RCCL. I called just this week and was told I could not book until mid-April.

Here is my questions: We liked deck 7. Is there any reason to be on a different deck? Motion did not seem to bother us.

Anyone ever stay in a family room, that sleeps 4 or 5? I was looking at this option. I know those rooms are not on the website and I would have to call RCCL for that price.

I want a balcony. Loved having it last time. Are all balcony rooms the same?

What is so special about AFT rooms?

As you can see, I am still a newbie with lots of questions. Thanks in advance!

I'll only tackle one:

AFT cabins tend to have very large (long) balconies . . . 2 to 3 times larger than standard ones for the same class cabin . . . large enough for a table and chairs - full sized - or in our deck 10 aft experience, two loungers and two sitting chairs with plenty of room to spare.

An AFT corner on a FREEDOM class can be a real score! But any aft on F has a much larger balc' than the same class on the side

While the aft cabins do have deeper balconies, if you go back and forth to the cabin alot during the day, it becomes a huge pain....those hallways are mighty long!

All D catagory cabins are the same size. All E's are the same size....etc...

I prefer a midship deck 10 balcony....so convenient! I'd stick with the 2 cabin option...gives the kids a place for their messes and the adults a bit of privacy. Depending on the ship, there are even a few balconies that connect to an inside cabin! Personally, I'd put both son and daughter in the same cabin....