Restaurants for Salmon - not Salmon Bake

kodykatt

We will be visiting Juneau, Skagway, and Ketchikan and my son wants to eat Salmon. Hoping someone knows of a very good restaurant in any of these cities. I know there are salmon bakes but they seem touristy and probably crowded. Do any of the restaurants prepare the salmon with that "outdoor" cooking over wood?

Thanks and regards

I'm a Juneau resident and Thane Ore House is great! No other restaurants cook outdoors. For an indoor sitdown restaurant the Hangar and Twisted Fish are both good choices, especially for Halibut. Have fun.....Its Sunny and 65 today in Juneau!

I too suggest Thane Ore. But don't hesistate to walk up to someplace and give it a try, if the menu is of interest to you. :)

Budget Queen,

Do you need reservations at Thane Ore? Also, is it far from the docks, i.e. do you need a rental car or is there other transportation to get there? Thanks for any info.

Budget Queen,

Do you need reservations at Thane Ore? Also, is it far from the docks, i.e. do you need a rental car or is there other transportation to get there? Thanks for any info.

If you are taking Capt Larry's whale watching trip while in Juneau they can also arrange this for your.. I wouldn't bother with rental car..

I'm a Juneau resident and Thane Ore House is great! No other restaurants cook outdoors. For an indoor sitdown restaurant the Hangar and Twisted Fish are both good choices, especially for Halibut. Have fun.....Its Sunny and 65 today in Juneau!

Are Hangar and Twisted Fish within walking distance of the docks?

Not sure how close you want to the Space Needle/Seattle Center area - but you can take the monorail from the center to go downtown. Here are a few good places t consider: