Alaska excursions for a toddler

getawaygirl

Hi, I'm new at this but I have a couple of questions if anyone has any advice.We are traveling with our 4 year old on Jun 18 on the Radiance of the Seas RCI Ship to Alaska. Does anyone have any info on some excursions she will be able to do? I would like to take her dogsledding and maybe the raft trip in Juneau, but I'm not sure if she's too young for these trips. She's been on a Carnival cruise last year and loved the kids club on board, and we're hoping she'll enjoy this one as well. Thanks for any feedback.

Getawaygirl

The first thing you will need to do is check with the vendors or shore excursion office about minimum ages on trips. Many are limited to "big" kids. Once you know which ones are available, the choices may be easier.

The dog sledding is a costly option and I don't recommend the Mendenhall float trip, money is better spent elsewhere. I would look for "short" tours that allow less "no way out" options. Walking tours of the ports are just excellent. As mentioned, you need to look at age restrictions. Few tours have kids rates. A lot of tours are of great interest to adults but kids usually aren't interested in scenery and have a difficult time seeing far off brief viewing wildlife. Look over a shore excursion list and carefully read descriptions and determine what is right for your family.