Alaska in 2014 - Hopefully?

sivyaleah

Hi everyone!

My BF and I both turn 55 in 2014 and are seriously contemplating an Alaskan cruise for our birthday. It's one of those dream trips we both individually have wanted to take prior to meeting and, by that time, we also will be celebrating 6 years together at the time of year when we'll be cruising. Who knows, perhaps it will be a wedding also since he keeps hounding me to marry him lol :D

Anyway, I'm just now starting to gather information. My sister is a travel agent so she'll be doing a lot of leg work for me but, I value what people on CC think, as I've been a member here for a while (I've cruised several times in the past, as has he).

Things that matter to us are:

Food. Yes I'm putting this first because our last cruise on Royal Caribbean was very disappointing in that regard. I am a really good cook, and I know bad food when I taste it and now that he's used to eating my food, well he's gotten spoiled. We need to have a ship with a lot of options for dining. I loved being on NCL for that reason - many restaurants to choose from; we didn't mind paying the up-charge at all.

Newer staterooms if possible. However, not at the expense of being cramped. We really disliked NCL's "Epic". Very poor room planning.

Balcony - must have. Possibly would take a suite or mini-suite if the price was right.

We've learned we don't really like mega-ships. Would prefer to sail on a more intimately sized ship.

We are not party people any longer by any stretch of the imagination. We don't care about the bars, and really aren't much into glitzy shows. We are low key, nature lovers or tend to keep to ourselves most of the time. Therefore, we also need to make sure that "tables for two" at dining are widely available and not a problem to obtain.