Name that policy...Real Life Stories

JCJR

I have been on 9 cruises and this is the first time I am buying a policy. Chalk it up to being young and naive. Since I have been around many who have cruised and cruised my self I have seen and lived many close calls.

Tell me your real life story, if you had to use your insuarance (details) or if you had no insuarance what coverage would you need and how much.

Eventhough this is my first time buying insurance I strongly recommend purchasing as I have been rolling the dice and have been extremely lucky.

My closest call.

7 day cruise with my wife, 1.5 yr old and 3 yr old. Second room, my mom and sister. Day of cruise my 1.5 yr didn't look right, mother's intuition when we woke up around 7am. Since we live in the port city our plan was to be on the ship by noon. Wife panics and takes my son to emergency room around 9am hoping to get a prescription to make him feel better.

Doctors could not tell what was wrong with him, test results would take a while. Doctor recommends that we do not take the cruise as they don't know what is wrong. Spent couple hours then called our sons regular doctor. Went to a second clinic, no one can tell what's wrong with my son. Son was a little warm and wife can tell he is not well just by looking at him. It was an intermitten thing that he looked blah then fine, everyone agreed it was not life threatning or serious just a precaution. Around noon son looked fine.

2:00pm deciding what to do, no travel insuarance. I suggested every one go on the cruise and I wait behind with my son and catch up next day in Bahamas. I live in Miami and flight not that expensive. Family doesn't want to leave no one behind. I felt terrible to ruin my mom and sister's vacation.