Port of Tampa News for Carnival Cruise Line (and others).

It appears that there is some "good" news for Carnival (and others) on the horizon regarding the Port of Tampa and the pesky Sunshine Skyway Bridge that currently prevents and prohibits the larger "mega" ships from entering the bay.....read/see more here.... http://www.myfoxtampabay.com/story/25912159/mega-cruise-ships-present-mega-problems-for-tampa

I can't wait to hear what they have in mind to resolve the "Skyway Bridge" problem. We need to be able to accommodate the "mega ships" here in the Tampa/St Pete area, or we're going to lose a lot of tourist business.

"SKY"

I can't wait to hear what they have in mind to resolve the "Skyway Bridge" problem. We need to be able to accommodate the "mega ships" here in the Tampa/St Pete area, or we're going to lose a lot of tourist business.

"SKY"

Exactly. I wouldn't know where to turn if Tampa lost it's cruise industry. I've been cruising out of Tampa for 8 years, due to it being only 35-40 minutes away. But, if I had my opinion, I would build the cruise terminal out past the Skyway. My itinerary/ship choice would be a 2.0 Conquest class ship doing Southern Caribbean and Eastern Caribbean routes.. That would be Paradise ;).

I REALLY hope Tampa figures out a way to get past this issue! I grew up in Tampa and my family still lives there. Since Tampa doesn't have the ships or itinerary I prefer I usually leave out of the Orlando or Miami ports. This means I have to travel to Tampa to drop my toddler off to my family in Tampa (he's too young for me to pay $500 for a cruise) before I take any cruises. When I get back from the cruise I have to stop in Tampa to get my son and then keep going back to the town I currently live in. It's a huge pain but something that I have to do to get to my vacation. I would be great to make one stop to drop by kid off, stay the night with my family, and then get on the ship. Come one Tampa! Make it happen!