Celebrity Xciting Deals - not so Xciting for solos?

ChiGal1962

I know single supplements tend to be a sore spot. I hear ya, I'm not a fan. Especially when they're at 200%. But this one just threw me.

The Xciting deals posted this week include two 14 night Holy Land cruises. Both showing $1,099 for a veranda, with a 200% supplement. Hate the supplement, but the price still isn't wretched. So for grins, I thought I'd explore a bit more. When you go into Celebrity to book, it shows the $1,099 for a veranda. When you change the # of people to 1, all of a sudden the price goes to $3,998.

Now, I work numbers for a living. And $3,998 is a 363% increase over $1,099 any which way you look at it. I've never seen this before. Could be a glitch, I suppose. I could call, but not a fan of their customer service.

Thoughts?

I know single supplements tend to be a sore spot. I hear ya, I'm not a fan. Especially when they're at 200%. But this one just threw me.

The Xciting deals posted this week include two 14 night Holy Land cruises. Both showing $1,099 for a veranda, with a 200% supplement. Hate the supplement, but the price still isn't wretched. So for grins, I thought I'd explore a bit more. When you go into Celebrity to book, it shows the $1,099 for a veranda. When you change the # of people to 1, all of a sudden the price goes to $3,998.

Now, I work numbers for a living. And $3,998 is a 363% increase over $1,099 any which way you look at it. I've never seen this before. Could be a glitch, I suppose. I could call, but not a fan of their customer service.

Thoughts?

I have seen this many times on Royal Caribbean, when I put one person, it was more then doubled.

Yes, that happens a lot on Celebrity. They don't make the best rates available to solos a lot of the time. BUT if there is a Tuesday Special on it that shows a 200% rate on a $1099 price, they should darn well honor it. I would try calling in if that happened and ask them to give you the advertised rate.