Is this an upgrade???

Fluke67

Hi. Total cruise newbie here. Booked on caribbean princess in c201, and just got an upgrade to a605. It's a much better location mid ship, but aloha's balconies seem to be much smaller than caribe's. Booked this as a surprise 80th bday gift for my mom, who cruises frequently but always gets a mid ship inside cabin. She doesn't have any mobility issues, so IMO the extra walking won't be a big deal for her, but 201 is pretty far forward.

Should I decline? Per the princess website, c234 looks avail -maybe I ask for that instead? Thanks!

We prefer Caribe balconies, as the balcony itself is much bigger and has a shady private area and a sunny open area. Personally I would turn down a move to an Aloha deck balcony if I had a Caribe balcony.

If you have a Caribe balcony you can request to be moved to any other one in the same cost category. That C201 location might be subject to too much motion for some people. I would definitely go for the C234 BE cabin location if it were me. Your Mom will get plenty of walking going to/from restaurants further back in the ship.

Edited by Times Prince

My wife prefers midship cabins because she's very susceptible to motion sickness but she'd prefer a larger Caribe deck balcony cabin. I would also take the Caribe cabin & as close to midship as possible over a smaller Aloha deck cabin & would ask if C234 is available.

Edited by Astro Flyer

Hi there

We had C201 recently and yes it is well forward, my hubby managed to brake his foot whilst on board and had a wheelchair from the Med Centre. Being that far forward was a bit of a problem getting by all the stewards trolleys in the morning. Caribe deck is definitively the way to go with the very large balconies which are half open half covered so you can nip out there even if the weather wasn't too great.

good luck