Any 5k/10k/Half or Full Marathon Runners/Walkers?

Flip2cruise

I have seen quite a few runners on the various boards and thought it might be a great idea if we all had a central place to chat and share race stories/training techniques. Im a walk/runner and will be doing the Maui Marathon, Sept 18th, this will be my third Marathon.

We can also list pre cruise running routes in port cities. I know some like to have a general idea before they take off and run in a different city.

Has anyone tried doing a marathon then getting on a cruise the same day? I had thought about doing that for the Mardis Gras 2007 race in New Orleans, but made other plans for 07.

I do run marathons. No way could I run a race and enjoy getting on a ship the same day. I am training for a marathon in January and cruising out on 10/8. That morning my group runs 12 miles and I am a coach. Even 12 miles will make me tired for the sail away so I think I will show up and run 5 to conserve energy. In terms of Ports San Diego is fabulous for running.

I used to do half marathons as a runner but buggered up my knee and then added 3 kids to the mix. I haven't done a race since 97. I've been giving serious thought to training for a half as a walker or even a sprint length triathlon but have been in a holding pattern this summer as we're expecting the call for child #4 any minute. If we can get him home in the next few months and get settled then I would like to train for the Indianapolis Mini next May. If nothing else, I need the exercise involved in doing the training. :D

Tami

Having four kids is a different type of marathon :)

I am so impressed that so many Moms of young children are in the program I am in. Some of them hire sitters for 6:00 a.m. for training runs!

Many marathons are now "walker friendly" so the sport is much more inclusive.

There is actually a web site where they coordinate marathons with cruises but I have found the pricing to be far higher than average:mad: