Beware When Booking Cruise with Decide Later Certificate

edeneyes

Last week I booked a cruise with a Decide Later Certificate that I had purchased in 2013. I had made a courtesy hold on a cabin and then called Royal the next day to finalize the booking. The price that they came up with was about $100 more than my Courtesy Hold price. I was on the phone with the agent for an hour or so and supposedly no one on their end could figure out why the difference. I just accepted the booking and they promised they would look into it and get back to me (they never did). When I studied my invoice, I noticed that the port taxes were about $100 more than what was showing on a mock booking for the cruise. I called Royal again last Saturday because the price dropped on my cruise and again the new price they quoted was about $100 more than my mock booking. The agent checked into it for me and determined that the port taxes for my cruise were higher when I purchased my Decide Later certificate so that amount was what their system was charging me. The agent promised that Royal would look into it and behold, on Monday My booking was updated with the current correct charge for the taxes. So when booking with one of these certificates, make sure you are being charged the correct current taxes. I guess that this would also apply to a specific cruise booked far in advance.

Sent from my iPad using Forums mobile app

One problem with the NextCruise certificate is they consider the booking date the date you purchased the certificate, therefore the rules in place at that time are used on when you actually book. Several years back when they had the fuel surcharge we had purchased one, when we booked they had removed the surcharge but I had to have my TA talk to them to get it removed from my pricing.

They have made the incentive to purchase a certificate without an actual booking so minimal that I will not bother with it again.

• 4 weeks later...