Dynamic Dining-Reservations

I will be on the Anthem during the New Year's Eve/New Year's Sailing. I am new to Royal Caribbean and do not understand Dynamic Dining.

Am I required to make reservations for dinner prior to boarding? If I do not make reservations, will I not be allowed in any of the dining rooms?

Also, do I have to make reservations for lunch as well?

TIA.

There's two version of DD. One is the DD which is a bit like "My time Dining" and need to make reserves for each evening in each of the 4 complementary restaurant (a 5th if in a suite.) Then there's the Classic DD which you need to get an assigned time and you rotate with the same dining companions and waiters among the 4 complementary restaurants. I'm booked on the Anthem for the 9 nite NE/Canada itinerary in August and upon booking requested/received a 6PM Classic dining time.

If you don't have any assigned or reserved time it's basically on availability

when you show up. On this past February Quantum cruise, there was only one version of DD and many Pax were turned away without reserves.

Ps. There's a wonderful review of Anthem by "kevinyork" on the Canary Island cruise--ask any specific Q? there.

I will be on the Anthem during the New Year's Eve/New Year's Sailing. I am new to Royal Caribbean and do not understand Dynamic Dining.

Am I required to make reservations for dinner prior to boarding? If I do not make reservations, will I not be allowed in any of the dining rooms?

Also, do I have to make reservations for lunch as well?

TIA.

I am answering this as someone who has NOT sailed on Anthem, but plan to in April and have thus been doing a lot of research.