Balcony on Conquest with kids?!?

BonusMom

Hi all!! Newbie here. We are booked on the Conquest in April 2018 for a high school graduation gift for our son. We booked two rooms, one for the kids who will be 18 (two months shy of 19) and 6.5 at the time we cruise, and one across the hall for us. We are considering moving the kids to a balcony room, but my husband is concerned about the safety of the balcony for a 6.5 year old. Let me just say she will NEVER be alone in the room or on the balcony, but she is a very adventurous kid. Can you guys give me some insight on the likelihood of a child climbing and falling off of a balcony? We are in 7423 and are looking at putting the kids next door.

We had a balcony last January on Conquest with our kids who were 7 & 3. Our 7 year old could see over it, by a head. I'm 5'3" and the balcony rails are almost at shoulder height for me. The door is also really heavy, and the lock was over my head. We also kept the door to the balcony locked unless one of us was there to supervise. Ultimately it comes down to what you're most comfortable with.

Unless your almost 7 year old has a mind to jump off a ship, there is NO WAY he'll "fall"...honestly! I don't know why you'd want to pay for a balcony for kids, tho...they are only in the cabin to sleep...too much to do elsewhere! Save the money, and keep their inside cabin! Kids will NOT be using a balcony like adults will......waste of money.

Anyone who wants to jump off the ship doesn't need a balcony to do it...plenty of other, open spaces for that sort of thing!

Edited by cb at sea