Guidebook for Argentina and Chile

tak2

I'll be on a Celebrity cruise to these countries in Jan 2007. Just beginning to learn about them, but there are only three books at bookstore.... Fodors" South America", Frommers " Argentina and Chile" and Lonely Planet " South America on a shoestring Budget"( which is not what I'm looking for) I'm sure there are others out there. I wouldn't want to order them just based on description online such as Amazon.com. Any suggestions?

Thanks.

I looked a couple of years ago when we were first planning our trip to S.A.

Unfortunately all I could find was the Lonely Planet book on S.A. which I bought as we are also going to Peru and Ecuador.

There is some excellent information in it and is well worth buying even though a lot is for budget travellers.

Jennie

I have been using Frommer's books for 38 years. Our first one was on our honeymoon: Europe on 5$ a Day. My how that has changed! Wherever I got I get a Frommer's book. So in front of me I hae Fromer's Argentina & Chile. It is very nice, but has so much more in in than what we need cruising! I have already removed the pages that apply to the places we are going and will put them in another notebook with other info I have gleaned from the net, this website, and others. No sense taking the big book. At first it hurt me to remove pages, but I can always put them back in---when weight limits are an issue---no need for a fat book. We are going to Santiago/Valparaiso for 3 days prior to our cruise--independently. It has been invaluable in planning for that. The same with our 2 days at Iguazu Falls and 5 days in Buenos Aires, post cruise. There is not a whole lot written about the out of the way places we are going to, however. There was a nice section on SA history in it that I found interesting---and I'm not a history lover! I like to use it to have an idea of what I'll be seeing. Can also ask your independent tour guides to take you there if possible.I bought it used on Amazon.com.