Air Plus

QRB4539

We will be using Air Plus for an upcoming cruise. We usually do our own airfare. My question is has anyone had success with upgrading seats?

We have privileges/status that get us premium economy for no extra fee when we fly on United. Has anyone had any success doing that?

Thanks in advance.

On 6/26/2019 at 7:08 PM, QRB4539 said:

We will be using Air Plus for an upcoming cruise. We usually do our own airfare. My question is has anyone had success with upgrading seats?

We have privileges/status that get us premium economy for no extra fee when we fly on United. Has anyone had any success doing that?

Thanks in advance.

I am by no means an expert on this, but the issue I encountered on upgrades of tickets purchased by Viking is that my airline (Delta) wouldn't allow upgrades until the tickets were actually purchased by Viking, and Viking typically waits to actually purchase the tickets until 60 days or so of the cruise.  I think you can ask them to purchase the tickets earlier, but my experience is that they will not purchase the tickets until you have paid in full for your cruise.  In our case, we bought a future cruise on board an existing cruise, which gave us extra time to pay for the full cruise (6 months out vs. time of booking) and we didn't want to have to pay the full cruise fare any earlier than necessary.  If you use Air Plus, you can have some input into the flights ultimately purchased by Viking on your behalf (assuming there are options -- my experience was that the flights I wanted were "not on their contract" and thus unavailable), but you need to check with your airline to determine at what point you can upgrade your seats.  It may or may not be worthwhile.  My sense is that many factors (airline, destination, time of purchase, etc.) go into the issue of whether you can successfully upgrade your Viking-purchased tickets, so talk to the Air Plus folks about all this before finalizing your tickets.  On one trip, we purchased Air