Dubrovnik and Kotor

You don’t need an excursion for Dubrovnik. If the ship is anchored in the bay, then the tender will bring you straight into the old town harbour. If the ship is docked you can get a taxi or a local bus the fairly short distance to the Pile Gate of the old town.

Once in the old town, buy tickets to walk the walls (or buy them online before you go)

https://www.dubrovnik-travel.net/entry-ticket-for-dubrovnik-city-walls/

Sorry Grandma, I totally disagree!  By using a local guide, one can learn our history which dates back to Roman times.  There is are more to see than just walking the wall.  Utilize our tourist bureau website and decide which of our many sites interest you and enjoy.  Please do not miss the Rupe Museum, it is my favorite.  Enjoy my beloved Dubrovnik, I have been doing so now for the past 11 years.  

All comes down to how you love to cruise and what you hope to do in port, both ports as another poster mentioned can be DIY, of course you can go hog wild and hire a private guide, but do your research carefully, lots of resources here on the internet, but if you can I'd look to avoid the cruiseline tours in both ports.

21 hours ago, Cavtatlady said:

Sorry Grandma, I totally disagree!  By using a local guide, one can learn our history which dates back to Roman times.  There is are more to see than just walking the wall.  Utilize our tourist bureau website and decide which of our many sites interest you and enjoy.  Please do not miss the Rupe Museum, it is my favorite.  Enjoy my beloved Dubrovnik, I have been doing so now for the past 11 years.  

I guess it comes down to personal choice. My DH has a very low boredom threshold, so we avoid guides. I do lots of research beforehand to satisfy my interest in the local area.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

On 8/16/2019 at 7:13 PM, kcbmarek said:

Will be stopping in Kotor and Dubrovnik on our Greek Isles and Croatia cruise.  Any shore excursion recommendations for these two stops?

TIA - Kim