Msc Splendida- Itinerary change

WorldTraveler151208

I have a reservation for the Msc Splendida cruise from Trieste in July. Today, I noticed on the website that they changed the itinerary and replaced Kotor (Montenegro) with Split (Croatia). As always, I didn’t even receive a notification about this from Msc Cruises.

Does anyone have any idea what happened?  These itineraries were established quite recently, so I thought Msc took all Covid restrictions into account and I didn’t expect any changes. Did Montenegro decide not to allow cruise ships? 
I'm pretty disappointed about this.  For me and probably for many passengers, Kotor was the most interesting port of this cruise.

5 hours ago, WorldTraveler151208 said:

I have a reservation for the Msc Splendida cruise from Trieste in July. Today, I noticed on the website that they changed the itinerary and replaced Kotor (Montenegro) with Split (Croatia). As always, I didn’t even receive a notification about this from Msc Cruises.

Does anyone have any idea what happened?  These itineraries were established quite recently, so I thought Msc took all Covid restrictions into account and I didn’t expect any changes. Did Montenegro decide not to allow cruise ships? 
I'm pretty disappointed about this.  For me and probably for many passengers, Kotor was the most interesting port of this cruise.

Really? That's interesting. My wife and I are very likely going to replace our upcoming Seaview cruise with the Splendida out of Trieste the month after yours. Just out of curiosity, and if you don't mind sharing, are you a US resident? And which site did you use? US or not? We went ahead and booked our flights yesterday to Venice in anticipation of this cruise. It's surprising, because I thought Montenegro was open to tourists. Our only concern at this point is whether MSC will change its current policy of only allowing Schengen area residents +Romania, Bulgaria and Croatia. Thanks for posting this!