Typical sea conditions in January and February? (I'm a novice!)

Parachute07

New to the board and to cruising - I hope you'll forgive my newbieness. I'm looking at the possibility of cruising on the Celebrity Infinity from Buenos Aires to Antarctica. I know that conditions can be unpredictable, but I'm trying to get a sense of how rough of a ride to likely expect. I tend to get seasick very easily without medication, but I've been mostly fine on boats with Dramamine (and on large cruise ships the motion hasn't bothered me much -- I took Dramamine during one rough sea day in the Mediterranean on a large cruise ship this year and on a recent Caribbean cruise I didn't take any medicine and I was fine). I have very young kids (ages 5 and 2) and they have been fine on large cruise ships, but both got seasick within an hour on a catamaran in the Mediterranean on a pretty calm sea day. I'm trying to get a sense of what to expect on a boat the size of the Infinity going down past Cape Horn and out to Paradise Bay, Gerlache Strait,  Elephant Island, etc. Are we very likely to hit seas rough enough to be knocking things off of shelves? If that is likely, is it likely to be that way for days at a time or hours or what? Has anyone done it and been completely miserable (or who expected to be miserable and was totally fine)?