Getting from Dover to Cambridge

Eli_6

So, I am departing a cruise (with my family) on June 9th to Dover.  I went on another cruise last year on this same boat and we had to be off the boat super early...like 6 in the morning.  I have an appointment that afternoon to look at a manuscript at the Parker Library at Corpus Christi College at Cambridge for my dissertation. (I am studying medieval history.) 

My plan was to take the train from Dover Priory to St. Pancras and then take another from there to Cambridge.  It appears the Parker Library is only about a mile from the train station so I figured I could either take a taxi or walk and my husband and kids could either check into a hotel (I thought the Clayton hotel looked nice) or go check out the Botanical Gardens while I did my research.  I have sailed into/out of Dover before, but I have never been to Cambridge before.  So, is my plan a good plan of action for getting from Dover to Cambridge?  Is there anything else that my husband and children might do in the city to entertain themselves for a few hours?  Any must see sites in Cambridge?  My children will be 9 and 10.