Photo gear for a BKB voyage?

CruiseMark

Trying to decide on what photo gear to bring on a BKB voyage. I have a Canon 6D kit. I’ll obviously bring a wide prime for northern lights, a standard zoom for walk around. But what I’m unsure about is a telephoto zoom. I’m trying to envision what I’d be using it for. I have a 70-200 and could pick up a 70-300 pretty cheaply, but don’t know if I’d need longer than that. Thoughts?

3 hours ago, oakridger said:

Hi @CruiseMark.  Try asking your questions on the Cruise Critic photography forum.  You should get a lot of responses over there.

Photo & Camera Discussions - Cruise Critic Community

Have fun in Norway!!

~Nancy

Thanks, @oakridger, but that forum is pretty generic. I’ve been a photographer for 50+ years and know how to use my camera.    I’m looking for lens recommendations for this cruise specifically. 

Sorry, what is a BKB?

From the Hurtigruten siting and the comment above, I am assuming a Norwegian coastal?

On my recent trip I used a medium format, 645Z, with a variety of lenses. I was surprised to find that I virtually never used my wide lens (35mm, 28mm equivalent in full frame), most often used my 55mm (=42mm) and 200mm (=160mm). When I needed wider, it was more convenient to compose a pano and stitch in LR later than to swap lenses.

Stan

39 minutes ago, GottaKnowWhen said:

Sorry, what is a BKB?

From the Hurtigruten siting and the comment above, I am assuming a Norwegian coastal?

On my recent trip I used a medium format, 645Z, with a variety of lenses. I was surprised to find that I virtually never used my wide lens (35mm, 28mm equivalent in full frame), most often used my 55mm (=42mm) and 200mm (=160mm). When I needed wider, it was more convenient to compose a pano and stitch in LR later than to swap lenses.

Stan

Thanks, Stan. BKB is the Bergen-Kirkenes-Bergen round trip Norwegian Coastal Express. 
I wish I could afford a 645Z!

Edited by CruiseMark

On 3/30/2023 at 7:54 PM, CruiseMark said: