Antarctica onland excursions w/ Silversea - how much walking?

MillyDM

Hello there, 
I'm a total newbie on this platform, and I researched this topic but didn't find a suitable answer to my questions.

I'm booked on an Antarctica Expedition cruise on Silversea next month (boarding on Dec 18 2023).

It's clear that muck boots are essential for shore landings... but it's unclear if they're good to walk in on the on-land excursions.

We're used to doing a fair amount of trekking on the snow, with or without snowshoes, so I know how important it is to have the right boot.

With the rented boots not having any lacing system, I wonder how suited these boots are to walk on the snow extensively. 
Am I wrong in expecting we'll walk for at least a couple of hours on the snow each time? how much walking is usually done on these excursions?

Because, if there's a bit to walk, I was thinking of using muck boots for shore landings but then changing into my regular trekking boots for the walking/hiking parts.

Alternatively, if these excursions are "less active" and there's much less to walk, then keeping these muck boots on, is the best solution (and I'll save on traveling with heavy boots, but just casual footwear)

What do you think?
thanks in advance
milly

Good questions, we had the same before our Silverseas Antarctic cruise a few years ago (note my avatar).

You need those boots as you do get out of the zodiacs in ankle deep water.  And they are fine for walking on the shores.  My wife bought her own boots as she found a cheap but high quality pair in a Clearance sale for less than the rental was going to cost.  She did the same with water pants.  I rented both.  The boots are flexible enough that walking for 30-60 minutes wasn't uncomfortable.  We wore a few layers of socks for warmth, that also kept our feet from slipping around and being a blister issue.