Fred to Stop Smoking on Balconies at Last?

tring

I have no first hand knowledge of this, but it is reported elsewhere that it is to be stopped this April. 

The new CEO will be starting very soon, (1st Feb at the latest apparently).  I wonder what other changes will happen as time goes by now.

Edited by tring
  • Like 1

• tring changed the title to Fred to Stop Smoking on Balconies at Last?

I think that will make many more people happy than those who object to the change.

That said short term they may lose bookings from smokers who booked in good faith and paid for a balcony just so they could actually smoke.

Yes it will indeed be interesting to see just what else might change.

• Like 1

On 1/24/2024 at 11:20 PM, tring said:

I have no first hand knowledge of this, but it is reported elsewhere that it is to be stopped this April. 

The new CEO will be starting very soon, (1st Feb at the latest apparently).  I wonder what other changes will happen as time goes by now.

Hope so as that's what put me off  booking a balcony.

• Like 3

I will be very happy when smoking on balconies is no longer allowed.  We recently had a junior suite on the Bollette but couldn't use the balcony because the person in the cabin next to us chain smoked.  Whenever we opened the balcony door our cabin would fill up with smoke.  Fortunately my wife's twin sister had a junior suite on the opposite side so we were able to share her balcony when the weather was suitable.

Edited by Coravel
  • Like 7

1 hour ago, twotravellersLondon said:

Interesting to know how it has been confirmed.

If anyone was booking today this is still the answer in the FAQ on the official website.

I didn't even realise they allowed vapes inside a cabin. As a non smoker I’ll be very glad to see it go in any type of cabin but for smokers it will be a different matter. A case for taking screen shots of web pages.