What to do on first day after embarking?

newbie202020

Hi, it's my first time traveling on Cunard and we're relatively new to cruising. What should we do on our first day after boarding and completing the muster drill? People have recommended going to the dining room to ensure we're happy with the seating arrangement, ask for conditioner and ask the room steward to empty the mini bar (for medical reason). Is there anything else? We're on the QE. Thanks

Registering your cruise card for muster can be done any time before sailing but often by 4pm.

For us, it's library first if open and then lunch but following a certain thread at the moment, if not on Freedom dining,  I'd say find out about your restaurant table!  🙂

• Thanks 1

(In addition or instead of things already mentioned)

Work out final orders at the Golden Lion for fish and chips.

Check the daily programme for any events coming up which should not be missed, including any sailaway events.

I get my shirts ironed for the next few days, since the laundry is usually quiet.

Wifi - sort out (may leave that to day 2 if my cell phone provider wifi is operating)

In Grills - sort out the headed letter papers

Have a friendly chat with the steward so we get to know each other

Consider getting the water package ordered in

Try to book the "behind the scenes" tour (sometimes they won't do that on day1, sometimes they do).

If making a future booking via the Sales office, popping down on the guise of getting an appointment, they will often handle the matter immediately if it looks like you know what you are doing. Maybe check for upgrades perhaps,

• Thanks 1

1 minute ago, newbie202020 said:

Which restaurants are open for lunch on embarkation day on QE? Thanks

Usually Lido and Golden Lion, plus the Grills. 

Depending on the specifics, there will sometimes be Afternoon Tea, it depends if it's a full or partial embarkation.

• Thanks 1

Where would I go once onboard to see if there are upgrades available on QE?