Questions about a 20 day cruise

CBJ

Hi all,

I'm a cruise newbie and also new to the forum. I'll be sailing on the 20 day Westerdam Panama Canal cruise in September.

How do I pack for a 20 day cruise? How many formal nights should I expect? All of the information I've seen is for 7 day cruises, and say 'don't overpack'... but I don't know how much is reasonable to bring for 20 days (actually 22 including our stay in the embarkation port). The Westerdam doesn't have self-serve laundry, and I imagine that the laundry service is $$$.

Any tips?

We have a group forming in the roll call section of the Cruise Critic Boards. We also will be planning a get together cocktail party as we sail out of LA. Hope you can join us.

Formal nights - there will be four formal nights and two to three informal nights. All the rest are casual. Laundry cost $12 for a bag - all you can stuff into it.

The only limit to luggage is the requirements of your airline, other than that you could bring a steamer trunk. Thank God for the airlines restrictions other wise my wife would take everything she owns - and guess who would have to lug it around ? See you on board.

Ron