To Lois R, Paul, and others...

CrazyCruiseCanuck

Thank you for the encouragement...(Lois, I feel that I know you from the 'fashion' board :) )

First, let me explain..I am new to the world of solo cruising...my husband and I had been on 6 wonderful cruises, all with Royal Caribbean, and had 3 more planned, when he passed away suddenly (heart) in February.

Although my life has changed completely, I feel that I cannot sit and home and isolate myself....I'm not that type. I will travel as planned at the end of this month with my 20-year-old son, and with friends in November. However, last week I found a good rate on the Mariner for September (didn't care where she went, just wanted to cruise), and booked it solo. (I know it's hurricane season, but I will think happy thoughts...)

I was starting to question my decision and feel a little insecure about the whole thing until I started reading this board. I feel so much better now, having other people address many of the concerns that I had, and to hear so much encouragement to first-time solo cruisers.

So thanks to all of you, and I hope to meet many nice people like you on my travels. Being alone is not my choice, but I am determined to make the best of it.

Hi Cindy:)

First, my heartfelt sympathies to you on the passing of your

husband. Hoping you have a good support system at home.

Next, thanks for the kind words. I have to be honest and I would

love to meet Paul on a cruise one day:D...Paul, you seem like

a fun person with a fantastic sense of humor:D

I sailed during hurricane season in 2004. We made it through

that particular week but the ship did alter course a bit...no big

deal to me.

I will keep your week in mind, though the Voyager class ships

don't really appeal to me...but the Mariner is only a 2 hour

drive from where I live;)

Lastly, I am glad we could help you. Sometimes all we need

is a big of encourgement! Our lives are totally different,