Booking for August trip - help!

Betsypaige

Hi all

I'm a newbie to this board, but I just want to say that I'm so glad I found it. There's an incredible amount of info on here, and I appreciate your all sharing your love of Alaska with those who have never been. I've always wanted to go, and even though I'm sure it's late in the game, I'm going to try and book a trip for August, or September if August is not available. I just have a couple of questions......

1)I think I've narrowed my choice down to either Celebrity or Radisson. I prefer Radisson because it's much smaller - I'd rather not be on a ship with close to 2000 other people - but the Celebrity itinerary includes Icy Point, which I haven't seen on too many others. I've read a few posts on here, and it seems like a great chance to experience a more "untouched" Alaska, which I would love. So, in a roundabout way, I guess I'm asking if anyone has been put off by the big ship mentality (the herding aspect, the crowds, etc.......)

The Radisson itinerary includes Hubbard, Juneau, Sitka, Skagway, Ketchikan and Tracy, along with the Inside Passage. Celebrity is much the same, except Icy Point is included and not Sitka.

2)I'm normally an independent traveller, but I am fairly squeezed for time and admittedly don't feel like driving around on my own pre or post-cruise. Therefore, I'm going to do a cruisetour, with all the benefits and problems that that entails. There are so many choices, and obviously, I can't see everything in one trip, or a thousand trips. Denali would certainly be a wonderful choice - Radisson and Celebrity cruisetours spend about a day/ day and a half in the park - at that limited amt of time, is it worth it, for that short a stay? I wish I had more time. There's another cruisetour on Celebrity that spends some time at Alyeska - I've heard about how beautiful the Alyeska resort is, and how good the food at the Seven Glaciers restaurant is. Worth it? Skip it?