tipping the wine steward

murphyis1

I'm a HAL newbie. DH and I plan to bring our own wine to DR. I know about the $15 corkage fee, but I've read on CC that sometimes the fee is waived when passengers "take care of the wine steward". First of all, I'm not exactly sure what a wine steward is. Most of my cruises have been on RCI, and our wine was always handled by our waiter or assistant waiter. Second, when is the appropriate time to tip this person? Each night at the end of dinner, once at the end of the cruise, once at the start of the cruise??? Thanks for your input!

Welcome to HAL! On the Volendam, each group of tables in the dining room was assigned a wine steward, separate from the waiters. Ours was a lovely lady named Elizabeth. She helped with wine selections, brought the glass/bottle, refilled the glasses from the bottle, and then corked & stored the bottle after dinner for the next night if there was any left. The bottle was waiting for us at the table the following evening. She would also take care of requests for sodas or mixed drinks at dinner. I also saw her assisting at the two wine tastings offered during the cruise. (Don't miss those if they're offered!) We gave her a tip on the last night of the cruise, which seemed to be the usual practice.

We didn't bring any wine on board with us, so I can't answer about the corkage fee.

We always tip our wine steward by envelope on the last night of the cruise.

Never before this last cruise did we ever bring any wine aboard with us.

This cruise, we had a pre-cruise stay in FLL and a very good friend there gave us a wonderful bottle of champagne which we did not drink while at the hotel. It was too fine to leave in the hotel and we treasured our friend had done this for us.

We brought the wine aboard and we explained the situation to our wine steward. We brought it to the dining room and he served it to us the same as he served all the wine we had throughout our cruise.