fuel surecharges

momofmeg

How many of you would prefer to pay the $35 then to see their favorite cruiseline go belly up?

after all these negative threads I am just wondering. I do not like it either (no more then I like paying double for cheese as to what it cost back in the fall) but I love crusing (and I love cheese so I buy it anyway) and hope to continue to do so.

I am not objecting to the fuel charge. Cruise lines, like all, companies are in business to make a profit. However, I don't think it is a choice of fuel charge or bankruptcy. In the last year, Carnival Corporation make 2.41 BILLION dollars on revenue of 13 billion. They announced today that they will pay their regular quarterly dividend of 40 cents per share to each of the 787 million shares outstanding.

I don't mind paying the extra. I've been cruising since 2001 and have paid just about the same price for the same type of cabin on each cruise. I know that fuel, food, etc. have gone up considerably since I started cruising. Everything is going up as a result of the fuel costs. I still can't believe milk is almost $5 gallon!!!

Everyone keeps saying how it's illegal for the cruiselines to do this...do you really think they would do it without thorough review from their lawyers? No way, there is too much involved with refunding the hundreds of thousands of people if they were found guilty. I just don't see that happening.

Whether we like it or not, the prices of everything are going up. Time to accept the facts. I'm certainly not going to let it ruin my vacation! :D

Thankyou. I am glad I am not the only one. Heck $35 will not even buy a meal for my family at Cracker Barrel and just barely at Mac Donalds.

Can you believe that one person who says cruiseships are not paying any more in fuel costs? I wonder what planet they came from? surely they are payingmore on their heating bills and gas for their car.

We don't mind paying them