Booking numbers?

figs

Hey guys! Quick question---why does Carnival lock out booking codes made from travel agents? My friend's mom booked our cruise for us, and she dabbles as a travel agent, so that's how she's registered on their system, I guess. I called up to get my booking number so I could see all the cruise info on Carnival's website (at least, that's my goal, I'm still new at this).

Carnival phone lady said that I'd have to ask my "travel agent" for my booking number. Problem is, my friend's mom has a very ill father, and she's totally inaccessible indefinitely. I know "if you book w/ an agent, they're your contact", but all I need is a booking number. They seriously can't just hand it over? I'm in their system, they looked me up.....sad and confused!

If you booked thru a TA, then yes, any questions about your booking need to go thru the TA, Carnival wouldnt deal with you.

This is true no matter what your question is, if there is a price decrease or anything. I always get my booking # immediately as the cruise is booked. Sometimes using a personal friend as a TA has its drawbacks.

Did you not know about the problems when you booked, wondering why she didnt give you the booking # right away. I understand you just want Carnival to get into the booking, but your TA has a PIN # that Carnival cant break into.

I recently had a similar issue with Carnival. My TA was on vacation for 4 weeks, the number that I had was not the correct number, it was only one number off. My parents booked this for cruise for the entire family and they are old school and still believe in doing everything through the TA. I was very unhappy with customer service, they are of no help in any manner if you used a TA. My next cruise will most likely be with another line. I understand as for the booking number but if I have questions re: shore excursions and such I would think they would help since they are getting my $ not the TA. Just my beef.