Best Way to See Santorini

narnia1

I have been reviewing these boards for several months and am wondering if renting a car is the best way to see Santorini? It seems like the bus and taxis go to Oia, but that's about it. Is it worthwhile to rent a car and see some of the other towns or the beaches? And how difficult is it to drive the island? I looked at a car rental site and they say that they will meet you at the pier and I guess it will cost about $100. Also, do they have auto transmissions? Thanks for the advice.:confused:

I have been reviewing these boards for several months and am wondering if renting a car is the best way to see Santorini? It seems like the bus and taxis go to Oia, but that's about it. Is it worthwhile to rent a car and see some of the other towns or the beaches? And how difficult is it to drive the island? I looked at a car rental site and they say that they will meet you at the pier and I guess it will cost about $100. Also, do they have auto transmissions? Thanks for the advice.:confused:

Hi dear fellow cruiser icon12.gif

If you click on the "search" button at the top of the page (2nd row, 3rd from right) and type in "Car rental in Santorini", you'll find all kinds of posts - with ideas, advice and car rental sites. I was going to paste them all here, but it'd be too long.

See ya! Sheila

Hi- we are going to Santorini next week and I, like you, have been researching the boards and trying to make plans. One site I found was a tourist bus on Santorini that I haven't seen any mention of on here

http://www.santorinismartbuses.com/

I don't think we'll use it ourselves as we intend just going to Oia and Thira, but it may come in useful,

kate

I liked the freedom our two car rentals on our two port days in Santorini (one last September and one just last month) afforded us. We paid 40 Euros (about $60) both times for an automatic. (I cannot drive a stick shift.)

If you need an automatic, I suggest you pre-book for the day.