Alaska--Vancouver Roundtrip--Air ???'s

Sheltieluv

Good afternoon, everyone.

We are looking at the June 9 Vancouver round-trip cruise on the Regent Navigator. We are US citizens and live about a 4-hours' drive from Toronto. Since Regent offers "included" air from Toronto, we would drive over the day before and spend the night near the Toronto airport.

I did a flight search, and I am seeing AirCanada non-stops to Vancouver, which would be great. (We actually live near Rochester, NY, but of course there would be connections, and just plain more hassle.) There are several flight times to choose from departing Toronto. My questions are:

1. Should we still pay the $100 pp deviation fee to ensure that we would in fact get a non-stop flight at the time we want it, or can we assume that since we would be flying the day of the cruise, that Regent would automatically schedule us accordingly? (hopefully w/ no connecting flights) Note that we have never used cruise/air before, so I'm new at this aspect of travel.

2. On the return---and this may be a dumb question, so bear with me:o-would we clear customs in Vancouver before flying, or in Toronto after arrival? As US citizens, when we debark the Navigator in Vancouver and go to the airport, since we would be on an AirCanada flight (again, I'm assuming) I'm just not sure what the protocol would be, because we're Americans and not Canadians.

3. Could we make an 11 a.m. flight, since it would be on a Wednesday? (We don't want to overnight again in Toronto on our return, but drive home that night).

I hope these questions make sense, and I thank you for your help! I look forward to hearing from someone.

We are looking at the June 9 Vancouver round-trip cruise on the Regent Navigator. We are US citizens and live about a 4-hours' drive from Toronto. Since Regent offers "included" air from Toronto, we would drive over the day before and spend the night near the Toronto airport.