Beware Smart Phone Users

judla

If you have a Smart Phone from any carrier please contact them about charges while on the ship, or in a foreign country. They can run into the hundreds of dollars. I have Verizon and just went into their store and talked to them about usage and costs. They said because your phone is always downloading information, even though you have it turned off you will be charged for it. Things as simple as date, time, weather or longer things such as e-mail. They told me to turn the phone off and remove the battery as soon as the ship leaves an American port. If you go to an American territory (such as Puerto Rico) you can use it at no additional charge. My sister found a post by J & G posted on Jan 11, 2010 which goes into great detail about this. My advice is for you to check with your carrier first. I am by no means an expert in this, but also don't want a huge phone bill when I get home.

I am surprised that Verizon did not tell you about their "Global email PDA" package.

It's $60 per month additional, but it supercedes your $30 per month smart phone charge and can be prorated.

There was a huge thread about it on the RCI boards. I just did it for a recent cruise.

I am by no means an expert on Smart Phones as I just got my first one about a month ago (a Blackberry), but can't you just go into your settings and turn off the 3G, data and WiFi so that the phone does not have data capabilities? Then it is not downloading anything. Also, turn off any roaming capabilities. Then it is just a phone. I am just asking.

I will check with Verizon before we leave, but this seems easy enough.

I am by no means an expert on Smart Phones as I just got my first one about a month ago (a Blackberry), but can't you just go into your settings and turn off the 3G, data and WiFi so that the phone does not have data capabilities? Then it is not downloading anything. Also, turn off any roaming capabilities. Then it is just a phone. I am just asking.