Worried about Insignia

Harborgirl246

If Insignia is having mechanical problems now, should I be worried about her future cruises, especially the fall TA?

I don't think that you need to be concerned, at least not more than about any other ship of that vintage.

We know that when Oceania turns Insignia over to Hapag Lloyd in April of 2012, she has to be in good order, so you actually have more information than the rest of us.

You know, when I first got the memo about the mechanical difficulties, I was concerned. But after thinking about it, I realized I have no way of knowing what the difficulties mean -- are they not fixing the problem because they're turning over the ship? Or is it a problem that could only be fixed by putting the ship in dry dock for an extended period of time? And is the problem so minor that it's not worth cancelling a scheduled cruise to make such a repair? I'm not a ship mechanic, I have no way of knowing.

Call me a naive Pollyanna, but I choose to have faith that Oceania wouldn't do anything that would put me and other passenegers at risk, nor would they do anything that would diminish my enjoyment of the cruise (although I might question it if I was on the cruise that had multiple ports cancelled). Just because it's Insignia's last sailing with Oceania, doesn't mean that Oceania is done sailing. They still have a reputation to uphold.

But that's me -- I'm a pretty laid back person. I realize not everyone is this way. If it's something that's truly concerning you, I'd keep my eye out on the boards to see if anyone is noticing any problems with the ship. You still have some time to cancel before the fall.

If they are cancelling ports for a cruise that starts late June because of a MINOR GENERATOR PROBLEM (as the story goes) that would worry me.

If they cannot fix the problem before then ...when do they plan on doing it:confused:

Would I be sailing across the open seas if they have not fixed the problem ...THINK NOT!!!