Been a while since I cruised and Im new to Princess. What do I need to know?

lucywestie

A short time ago I posted a thread about the difference between the Celebrity Century and the Sapphire. Well there weren't that many posts but between those and my TA we switched from a 19 day b2b on the Century [sept 2012 Alaska/West Coast] to the 14 day b2b on Sapphire [similar itineary, same time of year].

Our first and only cruise was back in 2007 on board the Serenade of the Seas. Had a blast, loved the feel of the ship etc etc. I did a ton of research before going so that we didn't feel overwhelmed when we got on board [tipping, drinks and dining etc].

Anyway, we are doing virtually the same cruise again but with Princess and Im wondering what can I expect from Princess. Have things changed much since cruising in 2007? Im not worried about food quality as thats just all subjective. We liked the idea of the Sapphire because of the huge refurb that is about to occur. Century only has one real extra dining venue [Murano's] whereas Sapphire is getting what seems to be a whole bunch of exciting places.

Im sort of aware of the new tipping practices about amounts being added daily to your onboard account. Before we tipped in cash. Can this still be done? i.e. first day on board cancel the automatic tipping then pay cash halfway through and at the end. Dont want to start a tipping war as I accidentally started that on Celebrity. But I prefer cash and we don't plan to eat in the main dining room. Just buffet and the other restaurants.

[and Im aware that the staff do sometimes work in other areas of the ship]

We have a midship inside cabin on the Aloha deck reserved. Its under the pool but as its an Alaska itinerary out TA [who is an extremely experienced cruiser] said that this shouldn't be an issue on this trip.