New cruiser, shoud I book air w/carnival?

JustJamie0418

Do I need to book airfare from columbus to miami WITH carnival or can I go through something such as orbitz/expedia/etc? I am not sure how we would get to the port, after we arrived to the airport (carnival offered a service for that under 100 dollars)

help. I am a complete newbie at travel. :o

No, you don't need to book your air with Carnival. You can do as well, if not better on your own, as you will be in control of all aspects. Carnival will get you there as cheaply as possible, and it might be convinent for you.

DON'T fly in the day of your cruise. See some of Miami, it is a fun place. If you HAVE to fly in the day of your cruise, get the earliest possible flight, preferably a non-stop. Book an appropriate departing flight- after 11am, for example.

DON'T take Carnival's ground transport. Just walk out of the terminal, grab a cab, and the cost will be $25, before tip. This applies to both directions- airport to ship, and ship to airport.

Read the MANY MANY comments on this board about why not to book cruise line air.

For tons of Carnival info, the Carnival board:

http://boards.cruisecritic.com/forumdisplay.php?f=215

We booked ours separately, but we're also flying in the day before. The only time we used Carnival to book our airfare was the first cruise we went on and we took a chance and flew in on our sail day (and was left at the airport for hours because the ship was late getting into port).

I'm purely guessing but I'd wager there aren't many direct flight from Columbus (CMH) to Miami (MIA) so pay close attention to connections. Look at flights from Dayton (DAY) or Detroit (DTW) too. I know that involves some driving but there are more direct flights from DTW to MIA and Ft. Lauderdale (FLL.)