Kindle or Nook

mominkaty

May not be the right place to post this, but we are leaving on the Magic in two weeks! Our first cruise and we've got an aft-wrap balcony. Know I'll spend some time on it reading. Typically take paperbacks when we vacation at the beach, but saw that one of the big book stores has a Nook Simple Touch for $79. Is is worth getting for the cruise or would a Kindle be better? Should we stick with paperback books that we can leave behind if they get wet/sandy, etc?

I love my Kindle3.

I also have a Fire but prefer my K3.

I took it with me on my last cruise & read on the beach/sun with no issue. I have no experience with Nooks so I can't say which would be best but my experience with Kindle and Amazon has been top notch.

Let me find the Beach/Reading pic & I will post it.

I just bought a regular Kindle 4 a few weeks ago ($79.00). I absolutely love it. All I wanted was a simple reading device and it more than fits the bill. I bought mine from Amazon but they have them right at Best Buy.

I love my Nook! I have the old style Nook and love it for sunny reading... have played with kindle fires from friends and jsut can't see them well in the bright sunlight. I have been wanting the Nook Simple Touch with the Glow Light for reading inb ed and not disturbing the sleeping DH!!!

I love my Kindle. Just bought a second one - I must have blown up my first one from over use! I actually had it for several years. Back in 2008 while on NCL I was laying by the pool reading my Kindle. I had several people ask me what I was reading and if they could take a peek at the Kindle. They had never seen one in person :D